Penyagolosa Trails | François D’Haene VS Kilian Jornet: epic duel in UTMB
Welcome to Penyagolosa Trails. Trail World Championships 2018. MiM, CSP and TWC . From Castellón to Penyagolosa
single,single-post,postid-2486,single-format-standard,ajax_updown,page_not_loaded,, vertical_menu_transparency vertical_menu_transparency_on,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-7.7,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.7.4,vc_responsive

François D’Haene VS Kilian Jornet: epic duel in UTMB


04 Sep François D’Haene VS Kilian Jornet: epic duel in UTMB

Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc expectatives always are so big. But, with François D’Haene, Killian Jornet, Zach Miller, Pau Capell, Tim Tollefson, Xavier Thevenard, Gidimias Grinius, Jordi Gamito or Jim Walmsley are more increasing. And ultra trail did not disappoint: was an UTMB for the history.

170 km, 10.000 dip metres and bad weather. This was the hard stage. However, americans runners, Zach Miller and Jim Walmsley, began so fast, higth rhythm, before D’Haene and Journet.

Jim Walmsley was leading race in all of check point, like Contamines, Col de la Seigne (Italy, km 60, 2516 m), Courmayeur (km 77), Grand Col Ferret  (Switzerland, km 99, 2537) and la Fouly (km 111). In this point, the race changed, and american runner was so tired and D’Haene and Jornet overtook him.

Two first was side by side until Bertone. In this hard part, D’Haene distanced. When la Fouly finished, the diference between two first runners was 8 minutes and started and epic persecution. In Champex Lac, diference was 19 minutes and the race seemed determined. But Jornet reduced five minutes between Trient (km 142) and Vallorcine (km 153).

grafica dhaene kilian jornet

Finally, D’Haene won in 19 hours and 1 minute, and Kilian Jornet was second with 19:16 hours. Rest of Top 10 was Tim Tollelson, Thevenard, Jim Walmsley, Pau Capell, Dylan Bowman, Gidimias Grinius, Zach Miller and Jordi Gamito.

Females podium was Nuria Picas, Andrea Huser and Christelle Bard.

UTMB 2017 was an epic duel between François D’Haene and Kilian Jornet.